Becky Glusac Profile

Introduction: Warning – This is not your typical profile.  Watch out for excessive personality.  When you hear things like “Westside till I Die” from a former Jagermeister girl you should listen up.

inca start

Name: Rebecca Glusac

Age: 31

Nicknames: Becky, Reba, Beck-dawg, Becky g, Beckarooski

Hometown: San Antonio, TX

Employment: Physician Assistant at Alta Orthopedics

Family: Parents: Stefanie and Will Glusac, spend their time between West Palm Beach Florida and Chicago, IL. I have an older and younger brother, making me the middle child and only girl. I grew up being very competitive with them and could usually beat them in activities that didn’t involve straight up physical force, i.e. wrestling. I got good at ‘getting away’ hence; swimming and running faster came into good use.

Other sports, hobbies, interests, etc.: I have dabbled in lots of sports over the years. Swimming has been my biggest participation and then running. I have done both for most of my life. I swam through college at UCSB as a sprinter.  I like to hike and trail run. I like to try new restaurants and to travel.

Most Prized Possession: My new fiancé, Ed Smith! Although I guess I don’t own him…….yet!

Favorite Food: Texas BBQ, Thai green curry, I have a big sweet tooth. I think lemon meringue pie is my favorite

Favorite Movie: I am a big 70-80’s horror movie fan. The original Texas Chainsaw Massacre is probably my favorite. Some other favorites: Steel Magnolias, Cry Baby, Shawshank Redemption, Strictly Ballroom. I’m all over the place with that question.

Favorite Spectator Sport: NFL football. I am in a football pool and the overall winner gets cash prize of a few hundred dollars every year. I’m currently winning.  I also like Gator Football. I went to UF for graduate school. Tailgating is about as fun as it gets.

Car I’d Love to be Driving: I would like to have a convertible car on the side to drive around town. Maybe an Infiniti… But I love my Toyota 4Runner. I like higher and bigger cars. What can I say, I’m from Texas. The gas mileage is not ideal, however.

My friends describe me as: Fun, laid back.

My trademark expression is: Westside till I die.

If money were not a consideration, I would love to: Continue doing what I’m doing but only work part time. I do feel as if my profession has some value in giving back to the community. But I would like to have more time to exercise/train and more time to travel. I think it would be nice to contribute to a medical charity trip once in awhile.

In the next 5 years, I hope to: Start a family.

In the next 10 years, I hope to: I can’t think that far ahead but I hope I am as happy and healthy as I am now.

Personal fact that will surprise my friends: I was a Jagermeister girl in College.

Favorite Running Shoes: Brooks

Favorite Distance and PR (post collegiate): My favorite, and probably where I have the best potential, is the 10K. For some reason I have my mind set on the half marathon for now. My best time is 1:31 from 2008. I have been trying to go faster ever since but it has not come together yet. I think once I beat that I will move on to a different distance.

Best Race and Why: The SB wine country race I just mentioned with my half PR was a good one. It is a really good feeling to finish a race strong. I am notorious for blowing up. I think that is the sprint swimmer in me.  Other than that, I love the 5 mile biathlon that is held every year as part of the Semana Nautica events. It is interesting and different because the run is first and then an ocean swim. It is a race that actually favors swimmers, which is rare in the biathlon and triathlon world. I have won it a couple of times for the women and have been top 3 or so as well overall.

Worst Race and Why: Surf City half marathon. I died so bad Ed Smith almost beat me.

Average Weekly Mileage (last 12 months): 20- 25

Favorite Local Race: Wine Country Half Marathon. I like a good excuse to drink wine.

Favorite Place to Run: Mountain Drive, Romero Canyon

Glory Days PR: All of my glory days PR are from college swimming. I hope I am just getting into my glory days of running.

Realistic Running Goals for this Year: Break 1:30 half marathon.

Wildly Optimistic Running Goals for this year: Break it by a lot….

Lifetime Running Goals: I hope I can run for many years and use it as a means to meet new people and stay healthy. I guess I will run until I have to become a walker.

Local Running Heroes & Why: Ed Smith. I’m pretty sure he doesn’t even like running very much but he is a really good all around athlete and does an amazing job ………for a swimmer. And he keeps my runs from being too lonely. He is also my water boy, so I need him to keep up J

Personal Training Tips: Don’t over think it.

Why I Run: I run for stress relief and to stay competitive with myself. I have always been athletic and hopefully always will be. I feel healthier overall when I am in shape. Also, it’s nice not to worry too much about eating my occasional high calorie food item.

I love runners who: Have fun.

I don’t care for runners who: I like them all, even the serious ones.